Imagine, you are standing on a high cliff, cornered. You have got to jump, there is no other way. You have a parachute strapped on. There is a sudden urge to jump, yet the next moment you find yourself balancing on the edge.. This loop goes on until you suddenly find yourself weightless, flying, the ground accelerating towards you. Pulling on your parachute strings, you come to a safe landing. You cant help applauding yourself at the feat you have accomplished! You think, “That pumping adrenaline, it was more of fun than fear after all”

Something like that happened to me yesterday, twice. Don’t worry, I wasn’t on any high cliff. I was safe and sound on the surface of earth.

First one happened when my friend Suvayan asked me to sing a song, composed by some of my friends. Never before I have sung or danced or given any speech in public. Whenever I sing, I have my headphones on my ears to spare me hearing my own singing. But, Suvayan was adamant. He wont let me go without it, and I was sort of hanging on the edge, wanting to jump, yet not able to.. Sudipta, Arijit, Suvayan all sang the song. Somehow I could not. My voice was imprisoned in my throat for a couple of minutes and suddenly, it broke free! It was kinda muffled, and I was a bit quick to finish the song. Heart pounding against my ribs, I was complimented, which meant I had made a safe landing.. πŸ˜€ again I sang it for 7 or 8 times. By now, it was quite funny (more like adventure for me)! Every-time he would point out the little flaws and try to rectify those. I think I did quite well! Finally, I had heard myself singing in public, without the headphones πŸ™‚ The bathroom singer has come out of the bathroom πŸ˜›

Guess which one is me..

Second one happened at my college. We had our college fest yesterday. Though the fest was going on for two days, we joined it on the last evening. There were two events scheduled, performances by Vineet and by Underground Authority. Man, Vineet has a marvelous voice. With him singing, everybody around was jumping and dancing in frenzy! I had to have my hanky tied across my face (not to inhale the sand clouds being kicked up). Initially, I was just standing, clapping in tune and singing with him. But, when he came up with his Himesh version of Jodha-Akbar title song, we were all into another world! Midway into the song I realized, I was dancing!! (another never-before for me πŸ˜€ ) And it went on till the end.. By the time Vineet signed off, I had a biting pain across my belly. But that could not stop me for long. Half an hour later, I was again dancing to the rocking tunes of Underground Authority..

Underground Authority
kicking up sand clouds!

The last fest of my college life, an evening I would not forget… Thank you all my juniors who have put up such a spectacular show on such shoestring budget. It was a fantabulous evening.. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

24 thoughts on “Finally, it happened!

    1. πŸ˜€ Sure! nowadays even bathroom singers are present on youtube. Bdw, While signing off they requested us to join them on facebook. There u might find their other links πŸ™‚

      1. I don’t know whether it’s available for EVERY song, but yes, it is available for all popular songs. And I forgot to mention, you sing by looking at the lyrics in a screen πŸ˜‰ So you don’t have to remember them, which makes it a lot easier.

        1. even now it is happening. I click on ur name “MademoiselleBluebell” next to ur comment, and a page shows up saying “mademosiellebluebell.wordpress.com is no longer available.”
          I think I found the problem. See, The name appears as “MademoiselleBluebell”, but the link appears as “mademosiellebluebell.wordpress.com”. see the bold letters. they arent in the same sequence.

          1. thats my fault I spelled mademoiselle wrong and thought I was changing it on the blog but I changed the url by mistake. Now it wont let me change it back. I’m not technologically advanced lol

            1. Ask the WordPress support guys, I heard they are quite nice and helpful. πŸ™‚ In the meantime I shall inform u of a solution if I find any. Computer troubleshooting is my hobby:-D

              1. Thanks dear but I’m afraid if I change my url back the followers I do have won’t find me. Doesn’t my post show up for you in your read section?

  1. I am guessing you are the guy in the white tank- congrats on singing in public for the first time! The farthest I have gotten in that venture is Karaoke- you are braver than I.

  2. hmmm really nice to hear this frm you.. ya it is awsome to be standing at the edge of the cliff..bdw njoy these things it really gives a lot of pleasure..keep posting!!

    1. Thanx! πŸ™‚ u know, I needed this to happen a long time ago. Now I dont even think about how others perceive me. I am much better a public speaker now, which is needed in our line of education πŸ™‚

    1. Thanx Thanx! πŸ˜€
      u know, the funniest thing is that the “parachute landing” lines hit me right when I was about to sing πŸ˜› . Then I had decided, that these lines have got to go in my new post.. πŸ™‚

a penny for your thoughts..

