Just finished downloading and watching the movie The Truman show starring one of my favourite actors Jim Carrey.. Those who know me personally might be a bit surprised to know that I took the time to download and watch something which is not at all an animated one. Even I myself don’t know what got into me. Maybe God had decided to teach me the most important lesson of my life.. I recommend you watch it too if you haven’t already.

Throughout the movie I felt pity for the Truman Burbank character. I had to keep reminding myself that it was just a story born from a fertile imagination; otherwise I could not have watched it till the end. Also usually I am able to relate myself to most the characters portrayed by Jim Carrey (to some extent at least). This one was different. I didn’t find any such relation, just watched it passively. The movie finished, 10 min afterwards it hit me!!

This whole movie was an absolute parallel to my life! I was living a real-life Truman show. According to the story Truman was bound in the world created for him since birth. As a result, it was his comfort zone and he never thought to break out of the artificial world, so he never knew anything about what was beyond what he knew. He never got the whiff that he was being monstrously deceived. He was always limited by his fears of the sea and air travel. Parallel to that, I live inside a world of my own fears, which have made my life limited to the same old routine like Truman’s. But eventually Truman starts realising the truth of deception and starts seeing through the masks. Finally he musters courage to overcome his child-hood fear of water, braves the artificial storm across the artificial sea and escapes from the artificial island of Seahaven.

So I realised that my comfort zone is actually the cage created by my own fears and mental blocks. I killed all my chances to escape the cage by the I possibly can’t attitude. I have let most opportunities pass by thinking “This isn’t possible for me”. Mostly I am shy to go somewhere or  do something alone, all by myself, thinking “What will others think”. But no more!

Even till yesterday I used to be shy of writing blog posts in front of somebody else for no concrete reason at all. But right now my dad is sitting beside me. He asked me what was i doing which I answered quite plainly (pretty big feat for me, ‘coz he intimidates me) Even while writing the last post I was thinking “Would my readers like this post”. This was the thought at back of my mind, but not today. Today I am writing this to keep reminding myself that there is a lot to be done. It takes just one thought  to overcome the fears I have. I am not afraid of anything anymore. From the next month I am gonna go to learn swimming alone. I don’t care if I have any friend to accompany me, I am tired of asking for company. I am gonna face the exams I have always dreaded. “If I shall succeed” will be answered when I get the results. But now I have just got to do, because “I can only if, and only when I want”. Everything else will take care of itself.

At the Door of this artificial world (courtesy :Taxidrivers.it)
14 thoughts on “Possibly the most important lesson of my life ever..

  1. I love this post, and I will tell you why. Because you wrote it for yourself, and not me (the reader). It takes courage and maturity to look inside ones self and find where changes need to be made. I applaud you for finding whats holding you back and rising above it so you can move forward in your life. Spread your wings dear and fly 🙂

  2. Hey buddy..you really got the right conclusion at the end. Even i also was a bit like you..but ya you truly said do anything that you love to do, don’t be shy or scared of what others are thinking of you..yes comon buddy do what you love..as life is once what you get and don’t miss a chance of not doing what you love to do.. 🙂

  3. Really, really fine! Do I have permission to re-blog it? The Trumann Show captures something about life that is very hard to see and you caught it. I’m sure many people have watched the movie and just thought, “What the hell….!” But you got it. Becoming “self” aware is so difficult and you are doing it so much earlier than I did. Keep up the good work.

  4. And I am too tired of asking for companies… so, I decide to do what gives me happiness even if I have to do it alone. You inspired me. 🙂 Thanks.

  5. In my blog I recommend toastmasters clubs because it helps people like you and me unlock our potential. You can visit as a guest without joining, search online you probably have a club near you. I would like to hear from you about your visit experience.

a penny for your thoughts..

